Homage to the Columbia River Gorge

When I was planning our trip, I kept stumbling across the most beautiful photos from Oregon. Waterfalls of all shapes and sizes, surrounded by moss-covered rocks and foliage a shade of green that seemed like it couldn’t be real. I knew I wanted to see these places and stand in the spray of those falls. When we finally made it to northern Oregon and began driving down I-84, I remember seeing Multnomah Falls from the interstate and it was even more grand than I had imagined, and I have a pretty good imagination.

Jason and I only had two days to explore this area; not nearly enough time to see it all but just enough to make us want to come back for more. After the Eagle Creek Fire this week, I’m so glad that we were able to visit this place when we did because the areas that were affected by the fire will not look the same in our lifetimes. I will be heading back to Portland in 10 days and plan to visit the Gorge if roads are open.

So here are a few photos from our trip along the Historic Columbia River Highway – I know Multnomah was saved but I’m not sure how the other falls have fared.  And a big thank you to all of the firefighters out there trying to protect these places.

Horsetail Falls 2
Horsetail Falls
Horsetail Falls
Horsetail Falls
Bridal Veil Falls
Bridal Veil Falls
Multnomah Falls Trail
Trail to Multnomah Falls
Multnomah Falls
Multnomah Falls

Want to see more Oregon waterfalls?  Read about a fantastic road trip further south in Oregon that has some excellent camping along The Waterfall Highway

Jesse

Leave a Reply

